The Festival Of Making

An opportunity arose for textiles and fashion where we can show off three garments in a catwalk show, which is going to be filmed by companies like the BBC, as apart of The Festival of Making. I originally decided that I would show off my two animal garments and my fire and ice garment but me and Danielle both agreed that it wouldn’t make a good collection of my work because they are too different from one another; with this in mind I decided that I would create three garments for my final major project, one inspired by fire, one by ice and one of both fire and ice. I sketched out some ideas too see what could work but also what I could deconstruct to reconstruct back into one final garment for my final major project.

img_0096.jpg

My three garments would be –

  1. Fire: a cape out of chiffon to create a flowing, fire flame effect
  2. Ice: Digitally printed triangles of my ice photographs
  3. Fire and Ice: a weave using the colours of fire and ice

Fire Cape

After sourcing chiffons from a local shop, Cheapest Fabrics, I began to cut fire flames out of the chiffons so that the cape would be make from fire shaped patterns instead of one piece of material

IMG_0105

Ice Garment

Moving forward from the ice neckpiece, I began to pin all the different sized triangles onto a mannequin to see the effect it would give off as a dress.

All I really need to do now with this garment is sew them together, I would like to add some other triangle textures using a stronger material to get enhance the effect of ice – I saw something similar on the show Project Runway, season 8 episode 3 (Its a Party) where April Johnston used only materials from a party store where the effect of the garment reminded me of ice.

fghj

Fire and Ice Garment

This garment would be a weave on the loom I created out of a choker and a hula hoop.

Fabric Costings

Shop: Cheapest Fabrics

Price: £43.50

Fabric Amount: 20 meters of reds, blues and orange chiffons

Leave a Reply

