Final Proposal

Pathway

 

Fashion and Texiles
Project Title Fire and Ice
Section 1: Review (Approx 150 words)
Reflecting upon units 1-6 allows me to reflect on the work that I have produced; I have gained a variety of skills from working across disciplines which has allowed me to develop a new range of skills that I have applied to my garment production, which has led to more sculptured, theatrical costumes. By gaining this higher skill set, I have been able to build upon my confidence which has allowed me to develop and create garments with more detail in a better quality. I have also developed my computer work as I can now edit photos onto other photographs using photoshop, which has allowed me to develop my garment photographs to make it fit into a theatrical setting.
Section 2: Project Concept (approx 250 words)
I am interested in developing costumes for the theatre and I have been inspired by a poem by Robert Frost called ‘Fire and Ice’, the work of Cirque du Soleil, Bauhaus and Oskar Schlemmer as initial starting points. I will also loosely be taking the story of Romeo and Juliet as a starting point where there are two families are stuck in a feud, and these families are one of Fire and one of Ice. I am interested in the idea of two families who undertake a battle with a love story entwined; this will become the narrative which will begin the development of the costumes. But this leaves me with one question, what will happen after the battle? Perhaps using fire and ice will act as a metaphor when creating my garments.

I intend to use experimental techniques like laser cutting, melting and felting to produce unusual elements to the garment; an influential artist for felting is Marjolein Dallinga. Photography has also introduced me to the costumes of the Bauhaus ballet and Oskar Schlemmer.

I will explore different ways of portraying the love story and communicating the narrative. The presentation of my work is another key element which I will consider; this could involve the production of a look-book, exhibiting the actual garments but this will depend on where my research takes me

Section 3: Evaluation (approx 100 words)
I intend to continuously evaluate and reflect on all my work and research throughout the project. At regular points, I want to stop and review my progress and whether I am meeting targets and my original intentions. I will gain feedback from my peers using critics and the facebook page, and I will try to respond to their opinions. I intend to gain a range of tutorial feedback from pathway tutors across disciplines. I will produce a final evaluation that will reflect on my whole creative process.
Proposed Research Sources and Bibliography (Harvard Format)
Cirque du Soleil: Worlds away (2012) Directed by Andrew Adamson USA: .

du Soleil 2017, C. (2017) Discover our shows & tickets online. Available at: https://www.cirquedusoleil.com (Accessed: 18 February 2017).

Oskar Schlemmer biography – Infos – Art Market (no date) Available at: http://www.oskar-schlemmer.com (Accessed: 19 February 2017).

Wolfe, R. (2013) Oskar Schlemmer’s Bauhaus costume parties (1924-1926). Available at: https://thecharnelhouse.org/2013/06/02/oskar-schlemmers-bauhaus-costume-parties-1924-1926/ (Accessed: 19 February 2017).

Mahood, M.M. and Mahood, P.M.M. (1968) Shakespeare’s wordplay. London: Methuen Publishing.

McLeish, K. (1985) Longman guide to Shakespeare’s characters: A who’s who of Shakespeare. Harlow, England: Longman.

Frost, R. (2002) The poetry of Robert Frost: The collected poems, complete and unabridged. Edited by Edward Connery Lathem. 2nd edn. New York: Holt, Henry & Company.

Bloomfelt (2016) Wearable art. Available at: http://www.bloomfelt.com/wearable-art/ (Accessed: 23 February 2017).

Leave a Reply

