Proposal: draft 2

Section 1: Review (Approx 150 words)
Looking back on units 1-6 allows me to reflect on the work that I have produced; I have gained a variety of skills from working across disciplines which has allowed me to develop a new range of skills that I have applied to my garment production, which has led to more sculptured, theatrical costumes. By gaining this higher skill set, I have been able to build upon my confidence which has allowed me to develop and create garments with more detail in a better quality. I have also developed my computer work as I can now edit photos onto other photographs using photoshop, which has allowed me to develop my garment photographs to make it fit into a theatrical setting.
Section 2: Project Concept (approx 250 words)
I am interested in developing costumes for the theatre and I have been inspired by a poem by Robert Frost called ‘Fire and Ice’, the work of Cirque du Soleil, Bauhaus and Oskar Schlemmer as initial starting points. I will also loosely be taking the story of Romeo and Juliet as a starting point where there are two families are stuck in a feud, and these families are one of Fire and one of Ice. I am interested in the idea of two families who undertake a battle with a love story entwined; this will become the narrative which will begin the development of the costumes. But this leaves me with one question, what will happen after the battle? Perhaps using fire and ice will act as a metaphor when creating my garments.

I would like to use experimental techniques like laser cutting, melting and felting to produce unusual elements to the garment; an influential artist for felting is Marjolein Dallinga. Photography has also introduced me to the costumes of the Bauhaus ballet and Oskar Schlemmer.

I may look at producing different ways of portraying the story and the story may end up all on one garment which fully shows the narrative. The presentation of my work is another key element which I have considered and I would like to show one garment with photos illustrating the story or I would like to have a look-book which illustrates the story from beginning till end, but as of yet I am unsure due to not knowing the final outcome of my work.

Section 3: Evaluation (approx 100 words)
I intend to use my blog as a starting point for a self-assessment; this will have continuous evaluation and reflection and I will also ask my peers in class or using the facebook page, for continuous evaluations. I would like to use reflection points where I will film or voice record myself at the end of every week talking about what I have and haven’t achieved, what went well and what I intend for the week after.
Leave a Reply

