Proposal: Draft one

Section 1: Review (Approx 150 words)
Looking back on units 1-6 allows me to reflect on the work that I have produced; I have gained a variety of skills, like stich and slash and using the overlocker, which I can take forward into my next project to create a well-produced garment with a variety a textures. By gaining a higher skill set, I have been able to build upon my confidence which has allowed me to develop and create garments with more detail in a better quality. I have also developed my computer work as I can now edit photos onto other photographs using photoshop, which has allowed me to develop my garment photographs to make it fit into a theatrical setting.
Section 2: Project Concept (approx 250 words)
Following on from the last unit, I want to develop on further from my Bauhaus collection by taking the silhouettes from the finished garments and apply them into a concept for a body of work based on the productions of Cirque Du Soleil. In order to develop a theme behind my costumes I found a poem by Robert Frost called ‘Fire and Ice’ which will set the story of my very own Cirque Du Soleil story. However, I will also loosely be taking the story of Romeo and Juliet as a starting point where there are two main families stuck in a feud, and these families are one of Fire and one of Ice. I would also like to use the technique of felting to produce different and unusual elements to the garment as inspired by the artist Marjolein Dallinga. Ideally, I would like to have my project finished with two functional and practical garments; one for fire and one for ice,  however, I may look at producing different ways of portraying the story and the story may end up all on one garment which fully shows the narrative. The presentation of my work is another key element which I have considered and I would like to show one garment with photos illustrating the story or I would like to have a look-book which illustrates the story from beginning till end, but as of yet I am unsure due to not knowing the final outcome of my work.
Section 3: Evaluation (approx 100 words)
When it comes to evaluating my work I will use my blog as a starting point for a self-assessment and then ask my peers in class or using the facebook page. I want to have constant feedback for my work, so that I can constantly develop my work so that it gets the very best outcome.
Leave a Reply

