Developing Ideas

After finding the poem, Fire and Ice by Robert Frost, I want to use this as inspiration for the characters for my costumes;

Some say the world will end in fire, 
Some say in ice. 
From what I’ve tasted of desire 
I hold with those who favor fire. 
But if it had to perish twice, 
I think I know enough of hate 
To say that for destruction ice 
Is also great 
And would suffice.
It reminds me of the Game of Thrones series as the basis of that is about fire and ice, which will allow me to look at the costumes from Game of Thrones as research to help me get the idea of fire and ice off. However, I want to develop this idea into more of a story like Cirque Du Soleil would do, and I have been looking into the ideas of their stories which some are loosely based on the works of Shakespeare, which again allows me to develop my work because I want my idea of fire and ice, to be loosely based on the work Romeo and Juliet where there are two families stuck in an ‘ancient feud’ where they feel like only one can win. This idea therefore allows me to have two families in one realm that are stuck in a long ancient fight, where it will come down to the fate of both their last remaining ancestors, the Queen of Fire and the Queen of Ice, to decide who will win. But what if both loose and a new realm forms?
References;
  • Frost, R. (2002) The poetry of Robert Frost: The collected poems, complete and unabridged. Edited by Edward Connery Lathem. 2nd edn. New York: Holt, Henry & Company.
Leave a Reply

